Compassion for the Lazy-Ass Quitter

That’s right. Compassion and “quitter” in the same title. Allow me to explain.

Oooh today was a crappy ass day in the ol’ gym. I must have pissed my boyfriend off or something because he was not treating me right today. I was so tired, no energy. That probably is partly to do with the fact that I didn’t bring my music (note to self: ALWAYS bring your music).

I’m going to come clean here. I didn’t do my whole plan for today, which was legs. I have come to realize that I don’t like this plan, this LEG training stuff. It’s hard. Waaaa waaaa. I felt like a little whiny, bitchy toddler in the gym today.

I just kept saying to myself how much I hated this, how HAAAARD it is, blah blah blah, and I couldn’t seem to snap out of the icky mind mentality this morning and get in the zone.

Bleh.

I skipped over exercises I was supposed to do. I didn’t push it to my full potential. I gave up, in short. I really just threw in the towel today, probably did about 2/3s and called it good.

Here’s the thing about me. I’m a “recovering” perfectionist. What I like to think this means is that I am trying to give myself some flexibility to say that I don’t have to always perform at 110% in everything I do. And I believe this is a good thing, because everything I do includes a full time job, single mom raising three preschoolers, strict high-protein low-carb diet that is super shocking compared to my lifestyle just about a month ago, and then add in everything else we have to do in our daily lives such as dishes, cooking, laundry, and maybe, just maybe trying to read a magazine or book once in a blue moon… well, geez folks. I need to cut myself a break sometimes.

Usually when I give up or kind of cop out on something, I’m overly hard on myself. And I’ve realized that for me, that kind of reaction is totally counter-productive. Being hard on myself, beating myself up mentally because I didn’t/wasn’t able to/didn’t want to complete something at 110%, isn’t really effective in motivating me to change. No, basically what it does is make me feel inadequate and crappy about myself, which in turn generally makes me want to avoid whatever it was that I copped out on.

This cannot be with the workouts and strength-training diet.

No. I have to accept those days when I am only human and don’t work up to 110% potential. I know I talked about this last week too, good days and bad days. But I guess I’m going back to it again because it’s really a challenge for me. It’s a challenge for me to accept my mini-failures and letting myself down, and tell myself, look honey, you’re a human being, you’re not perfect, and therefore you’re not going to do everything at 110%—or even 100%—everyday, and in the end, that’s OK.

So instead of beating myself up today, I tried again to reinforce myself with the positive aspects of things I DID accomplish.

1) I DID go to the gym and DIDN’T give up on my 5-day workout plan as a new lifestyle.
2) I DID drink a lot of water and DID eat a healthy breakfast and DID drink my protein shake.
3) I DID remember to be compassionate with myself and DID remember that each day in the gym is a step towards more discipline and more consistency.

These are things I think everyone needs to find a way to deal with and manage in the beginning stages of starting a fitness lifestyle. Otherwise I can easily see why people give up. It’s simple, we’re human, and we might even revert to toddler-think in our decision: “It’s too hard….!!!” therefore, avoid.

But real results don’t come with avoid.

Leave a Reply

