I’ve Had It

Seriously. Today is the day.

Today is the day that every single muscle in my entire body is crying out for mercy.

It’s not even pain, really. I’m kind of sore, but I wouldn’t describe it as pain. It’s a different kind of feeling.

I’m not even sure exhaustion quite captures it. Tired is way too common of a word to describe it. Run over by a truck is too dramatic.

It is a truly indescribable mix of all of those things. I want to give up. I’m so tired.

This is hard work. Hard.

When I think about the road ahead, I feel defeated. I can’t take it all at once. I have to look at it in small steps or I’ll get overwhelmed.

Today at the gym on the TV there was a thing on the news about a breakdancing troupe. I was watching them do their incredible moves, spinning on their hands, holding their entire bodies up with just one hand, and suspending themselves there, in the air, like magic.

It’s not magic. Holy crap, people. Do you think they came out spinning like that? No. Behind that “magic” is a whole lot of plain and simple hard work, practice, and attempts. Good days and bad days. But … consistency through it all.

I have no energy left to even type. All I can say is that I am holding onto this quote I found yesterday:

Continuous effort – not strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential.
Winston Churchill

Leave a Reply

